Back to catalogue
№ 314 22 filings · 2021-07-30 → 2026-07-30

SCOTTISH AMERICAN INVESTMENT CO. PLC

SAIN
Financial Services Share price 565p Market cap £819m Overall fit 340 /1000

Excellent quality/dividend vehicle but wrong shape for this investor's specific thesis: only indirect and diluted AI-receiver exposure (~15-20% of NAV via TSMC, Alphabet, Analog Devices, Microsoft), essentially zero operating leverage (trust structure with fixed 0.6% cost ratio), fairly priced rather than cheap, though downside protection is unusually strong.

Fair value range 560p–610p Mid case · £862m
Absolute upside +5.2% vs current market cap
Conviction 4/5 confidence in fair call
Supports the call
  • NAV marked daily on largely Level-1 quoted portfolio
  • Methodology (NAV +/- discount) unambiguous for a closed-end fund
  • Aggressive buyback programme caps downside on the discount
Limits the call
  • Spot NAV since 30 June 2026 is estimated, not disclosed
  • Appropriate discount band depends on whether style-lag persists
Methodology

NAV per share plus discount band

In one line · bull case

Baillie Gifford-managed global quality dividend compounder trading at a small discount to NAV, with 53-year dividend growth streak and disciplined buyback into the discount.

In one line · biggest risk

Continued narrow AI-led market leadership would prolong benchmark underperformance and could widen the discount despite the buyback programme.

Drivers
AI beneficiary 30 /100
Indirect only: ~15-20% of NAV in AI-adjacent holdings (TSMC 4.7%, Alphabet 2.7%, Analog Devices 2.4%, Microsoft 2.4%, MediaTek 1.4%); managers explicitly avoid concentrated AI exposure.
Operating leverage 15 /100
Investment trust structure has effectively no operating leverage; ongoing charges 0.60% of NAV, fixed debt cost ~3%, gains pass through 1:1 to shareholders.
Earnings vs expectations 50 /100
Hits its own dividend objective consistently but has missed benchmark NAV returns in each of the last three reported periods; call it in-line vs mandate.
Growth momentum 50 /100
Underlying portfolio earnings growing ~10%, NAV total return 5-6% p.a., dividend growth ~6% p.a. — steady but unspectacular.
Moat 40 /100
Established brand and 150+ year track record but faces direct competition from multiple similar global equity income trusts and passive alternatives.
Earnings quality 85 /100
Clean and simple investment trust accounting; income from dividends/rent/interest, capital from marked-to-market portfolio; almost entirely Level 1 assets.
Management quality 72 /100
Baillie Gifford Global Income Growth team has a coherent process and candid communication; recent stock-picking mixed (Zoetis exit at loss, Diageo dividend cut missed).
Cyclicality 45 /100
Global equity portfolio with quality tilt; less cyclical than the market but moderately exposed to global economic cycles via financials, industrials, consumer.
Leverage 30 /100
£95m of long-dated (2036/2045/2049) fixed-rate debt at ~3% coupon; gross gearing 11% of shareholders' funds, well within covenants.

Scottish American Investment Company PLC (SAIN) — Research Note

Executive summary

SAINTS ("SAINTS") is a 152-year-old UK-listed global equity income investment trust managed by Baillie Gifford's Global Income Growth team, targeting real dividend growth by holding ~55 quality global equities plus small allocations to directly-held UK property, infrastructure equities and bonds, financed with modest fixed-rate long-term debt. The trajectory over the covered period is one of steady 6–10% underlying earnings and dividend compounding across the portfolio — 2026 H1 saw 6.1% dividend growth on a 5.6% NAV total return — but conspicuous benchmark underperformance versus a technology/AI-concentrated FTSE All-World, prompting the manager to lean into share buybacks (9.1% of shares in H1 2026) at persistent 6–8% discounts. The single most important valuation point today is that this is a portfolio-of-holdings vehicle: fair value equals NAV, so the shares at 559p sit close to the 30 June 2026 NAV of 578.2p (borrowings at fair) — a modest ~3–7% discount, fair rather than cheap.

Fair value estimate

  • Methodology: Net asset value. For a closed-end fund, fair value per share is NAV per share ± a normalised discount/premium band. There is no independent DCF or multiples call to make on an investment trust — the underlying holdings are marked daily.
  • Anchor: NAV (borrowings at fair value) at 30 June 2026 = 578.2p; NAV (borrowings at book) = 556.1p 2026-07 half-year.
  • Roll-forward: Between end-June and end-July 2026 SAINTS' share price rose from 540p to 558p (+3.3%) and the FTSE All-World (SAINTS' benchmark) rose materially. Assuming NAV moved roughly in line with the portfolio (~+2–3%), spot NAV is likely in the 585–595p range.
  • Fair value range on shares: 560p – 610p (implied market cap £825m – £900m on 147.3m shares outstanding). This uses a 0–5% discount to spot NAV as the reasonable band — tighter than SAINTS' recent 6–8% actual discount because the manager is running an aggressive buyback into the discount, which structurally caps it.
  • Central estimate: 585p per share / **£862m market cap** — implying ~4.7% upside to the 559p current price.
  • vs. disclosed market cap £804.4m: shares are broadly fair — a modest discount to spot NAV.

Sector context

  • Sector: Financial Services / Investment Trusts (Global Equity Income sub-sector).
  • Quality/growth/leverage profile is in line with peers on discount, above-average on longevity/track record (53 years of dividend growth), below-average on total returns vs benchmark over the last three years due to Baillie Gifford's quality-compounder tilt.
  • Listed peers: Murray International (MYI), Bankers (BNKR), JPMorgan Global Growth & Income (JGGI), Alliance Trust (ATST).

Investment thesis (3 bullets)

  • Battle-tested dividend compounder with 53-year growth streak, extended in 2026 — H1 2026 dividend up 6.1% on 10% underlying portfolio earnings growth; revenue reserve remains healthy and payout policy is designed to smooth volatility 2026-07 half-year.
  • Discount + aggressive buyback provides a mechanical NAV tailwind — 14.9m shares (9.1% of opening share count) bought back in H1 2026 alone at an average 8.2% discount to fair-value NAV, accretively boosting NAV per share; management appear willing to keep buying while the discount persists 2026-07 half-year, 2026-02 annual.
  • Cheap long-dated fixed-rate debt (~3% blended coupon, maturities 2036/2045/2049) invested in real assets yielding ~6% (property) and equity/infra should keep enhancing NAV over the long term — this is essentially free carry given today's gilt yields 2026-02 annual.

Key risks (3 bullets)

  • Style-lag risk: If AI and mega-cap tech continue to dominate global indices, SAINTS' quality-yield tilt will keep lagging — H1 2026 delivered 5.6% NAV TR vs 12.9% for the FTSE All-World 2026-07 half-year. A prolonged period of this could see the discount widen structurally.
  • Currency/emerging-market income headwinds: A meaningful chunk of income comes from overseas dividends (£22.6m of £25.9m equity income in 2025); a sustained sterling rally would compress income growth 2026-02 annual.
  • Manager concentration / key-person risk: The trust is entirely managed by Baillie Gifford (James Dow and Ross Mathison); any misjudgement in bottom-up picks (e.g. the Diageo dividend cut, Novo Nordisk drawdown, Zoetis exit at a loss) directly hits NAV 2026-07 half-year, 2026-02 annual.

Operating leverage

Investment trusts have structurally no operating leverage in the sense the user cares about. SAINTS' ongoing charges are 0.60% of average NAV (management fee: 0.45% on first £500m, 0.35% thereafter, plus admin), so incremental portfolio gains flow through to shareholders roughly 1:1 minus fees, minus the fixed £2.8m annual debt interest. A 10–20% "beat" in NAV growth would show up as a 10–20% NAV move at the trust level — there is no fixed-cost operational base whose absorption would multiply the effect. The buyback programme adds a modest lever: buying back shares at an 8% discount adds ~0.5% to NAV per share per year at current cadence. What operating leverage does exist sits inside the portfolio holdings (TSMC, Schneider Electric, MSCI, Deutsche Boerse) — but you get diluted exposure through a ~4% TSMC weight rather than concentrated exposure 2026-07 half-year, 2026-02 annual.

Value-trap signals

None identified. Discount has been persistent but the manager is actively buying it back, dividend cover is intact, gearing is modest and long-dated, going-concern is unambiguous, and no accounting/disclosure red flags.

Earnings vs. expectations

Investment trusts don't guide on quarterly EPS or face consensus analyst expectations in the traditional sense. On the two metrics that matter for SAINTS:

  • Dividend growth vs objective ("beat inflation"): Consistently met — 2024 +5.5% (vs 3.4% CPI), 2025 +7% (vs 3.4% CPI), H1 2026 +6.1% (vs 2.6% CPI). Beat.
  • NAV total return vs benchmark: Missed in 2024 (6.1% vs 19.8%), 2025 (2.4% vs 14.7%) and H1 2026 (5.6% vs 12.9%). Baillie Gifford attribute this candidly to non-participation in AI-narrow-leadership names and to quality de-rating 2026-02 annual. Pattern: hits its own dividend/inflation objective consistently, misses the market benchmark in a narrow-leadership tape.

Conviction

4 — high. Anchoring factors: (1) NAV is calculated daily on an audited, largely Level-1 portfolio, so fair value is not a matter of opinion; (2) methodology (NAV ± discount) is unambiguous for a closed-end fund; (3) buyback policy caps the discount. Limiting factors: (1) exact spot NAV depends on portfolio movements since 30 June 2026 (estimated, not disclosed); (2) the appropriate discount to apply is a judgement call and depends on whether style-lag persists.

Driver scoring narrative

This is a diversified quality-income global equity fund whose managers deliberately avoid the concentrated AI-receiver names the user wants. It's the wrong shape for the strategy: excellent downside protection, no operating leverage, minimal direct AI exposure, priced at fair value. It's a good vehicle for a different investor — this reader would get more of what they want by buying TSMC, Schneider, MSCI, Deutsche Boerse directly.

Filings consulted · 33

Every document the LLM read for this note. Click any row to open the source.

  1. 2026-07-30Saints Plc Half Year Results2026-07-30_9694654_saints-plc-half-year-results.md0.90
  2. 2026-05-11Dividend Declaration2026-05-11_9561681_dividend-declaration.md0.30
  3. 2026-04-17Result OF Agm2026-04-17_9526681_result-of-agm.md0.30
  4. 2026-04-17Replacement Result OF Agm2026-04-17_9526719_replacement-result-of-agm.md0.30
  5. 2026-02-19The Scottish American Inv CO Plc Annual Results2026-02-19_9437252_the-scottish-american-inv-co-plc-annual-results.md1.00
  6. 2025-11-06Dividend Declaration2025-11-06_9217592_dividend-declaration.md0.26
  7. 2025-08-15Half Year Report2025-08-15_9056268_half-year-report.md0.77
  8. 2025-08-05Saints Plc Half Year Results2025-08-05_9027028_saints-plc-half-year-results.md0.77
  9. 2025-05-15Dividend Declaration2025-05-15_8880219_dividend-declaration.md0.20
  10. 2025-04-08Result OF Agm2025-04-08_8820503_result-of-agm.md0.20
  11. 2025-02-17Dividend Declaration2025-02-17_8740382_dividend-declaration.md0.20
  12. 2025-02-13Baillie Gifford Saints Final Results2025-02-13_8734503_baillie-gifford-saints-final-results.md0.65
  13. 2024-11-06Dividend Declaration2024-11-06_8534152_dividend-declaration.md0.20
  14. 2024-08-15Half Year Report2024-08-15_8369153_half-year-report.md0.58
  15. 2024-07-30Scottish American Investment CO Half Year Results2024-07-30_8337019_scottish-american-investment-co-half-year-results.md0.41
  16. 2024-05-15Dividend Declaration2024-05-15_8199385_dividend-declaration.md0.14
  17. 2024-04-04Result OF Agm2024-04-04_8121702_result-of-agm.md0.14
  18. 2024-02-15Saints 039 Annual Results TO 31 Dec 20232024-02-15_8038812_saints-039-annual-results-to-31-dec-2023.md0.45
  19. 2023-11-08Dividend Declaration2023-11-08_7868968_dividend-declaration.md0.14
  20. 2023-08-15Half Year Report2023-08-15_7697095_half-year-report.md0.41
  21. 2023-08-01Saints Half Year Results2023-08-01_7666861_saints-half-year-results.md0.23
  22. 2023-05-18Dividend Declaration2023-05-18_7533311_dividend-declaration.md0.07
  23. 2023-04-06Result OF Agm2023-04-06_7459284_result-of-agm.md0.07
  24. 2023-02-10Scottish American Investment CO Final Results2023-02-10_7405943_scottish-american-investment-co-final-results.md0.25
  25. 2023-02-10Dividend Declaration2023-02-10_7449437_dividend-declaration.md0.07
  26. 2022-11-02Dividend Declaration2022-11-02_7249924_dividend-declaration.md0.07
  27. 2022-08-12Half Year Report2022-08-12_7098774_half-year-report.md0.23
  28. 2022-07-28Scottish American Investment CO Half Year Results2022-07-28_7181764_scottish-american-investment-co-half-year-results.md0.23
  29. 2022-05-19Dividend Declaration2022-05-19_6934150_dividend-declaration.md0.07
  30. 2022-04-05Result OF Agm2022-04-05_6861801_result-of-agm.md0.07
  31. 2021-11-03Dividend Declaration2021-11-03_6659427_dividend-declaration.md0.07
  32. 2021-08-13Half Year Report2021-08-13_6549805_half-year-report.md0.23
  33. 2021-07-30Half Year Report2021-07-30_6785469_half-year-report.md0.09

This research note was authored by a large language model after reading 22 regulatory filings published between 2021-07-30 and 2026-07-30. Each citation refers to a specific RNS announcement in the underlying data set. The note is an opinion, not advice. Do your own work before risking capital.