Back to catalogue
№ 186 33 filings · 2022-03-16 → 2026-06-30

GELION PLC

GELN
Industrial Goods and Services Share price 18.50p Market cap £42m Overall fit 120 /1000

Structurally poor fit: essentially zero AI-receiver exposure, no commercial revenue against which its theoretical high operating leverage could work, and while the balance sheet is currently well-funded the business will almost certainly require further dilutive capital before achieving self-sustainability.

Fair value range 12p–25p Mid case · £42m
Absolute upside -0.1% vs current market cap
Conviction 2/5 confidence in fair call
Supports the call
  • hard cash-backed floor of ~£10.5m/4.6p per share
  • clean, well-disclosed AIM interim/final accounts across five years
  • consistent modest beats vs. published market expectations on the narrow cost/income line items
Limits the call
  • above-cash value is pure optionality on sulfur battery commercialisation with no unit economics or contracted royalty stream to model
  • history of repeated strategic pivots (Zn-Br to Zn hybrid to sulfur) and dilutive raises makes forward assumptions unstable
Methodology

Net cash + option value on IP, cross-checked to pre-commercial battery-tech peers

In one line · bull case

Deep-tech option on a sulfur-cathode 'drop-in' materials play with real Tier-1 collaborations (TDK, Nissan, NLR) and a fully-funded ~2-year runway — but no commercial revenue and no way to anchor fair value beyond cash-plus-optionality.

In one line · biggest risk

Without a signed commercial Tier-1 supply or licensing deal, the company will need to raise further dilutive equity before its NES™ CAM produces material revenue, and the technology remains unproven at industrial scale.

Drivers
AI beneficiary 10 /100
Sulfur battery CAM addresses EVs, aerospace, drones and stationary grid storage; no meaningful direct exposure to AI infrastructure spending or agentic-AI adoption.
Operating leverage 65 /100
Fixed R&D/admin cost base of ~£6m p.a. and capital-light licensing/toll-manufacturing model would offer strong theoretical leverage if a Tier-1 commercial deal materialised.
Earnings vs expectations 55 /100
FY23-FY25 Adjusted EBITDA losses have consistently come in a shade better than market expectations, but the set of published expectations is very narrow — call it a slightly-above-in-line 55.
Growth momentum 30 /100
Total income actually fell H1 FY26 vs. H1 FY25 excluding integration revenue; core commercial revenue is essentially zero.
Moat 35 /100
200+ patent protections, exclusive licences and Tier-1 collaborations (TDK, Nissan, NLR) form a plausible IP moat, but no commercial moat exists yet and the space is highly competitive.
Earnings quality 30 /100
Persistent operating losses with income dominated by R&D tax credits and grants; recurring non-recurring items around capital raises, IP write-offs and acquisitions.
Management quality 45 /100
Delivering steady technical milestones and non-dilutive grant wins, but cumulative dilution (108m to 229m shares in two years) and repeated strategic pivots weigh on the assessment.
Cyclicality 40 /100
Early-stage R&D company with grant/tax-credit income; not materially exposed to macro cycles today, though end-markets (EVs, grid storage) are cyclical.
Leverage 5 /100
Net cash of £10.5m at Dec 2025 with nil debt — fortress balance sheet.
Value-trap signals · 5
  • Serial dilutive equity raises at progressively lower prices (24p, 15p, 9p, then 20p)
  • Repeated strategic pivots (Zn-Br to Zn hybrid to sulfur cathode focus)
  • £4.8m impairment of parent-level investment in Gelion Technologies Pty in FY24
  • Pre-revenue with no disclosed bridge to positive cash flow inside the forecast horizon
  • Related-party consulting fees to the founder's private vehicle

GELION PLC (GELN) — Investment Research Note

Executive summary

Gelion is an AIM-listed, pre-revenue battery-materials R&D company developing a proprietary Nano-Encapsulated Sulfur (NES™) cathode active material designed as a "drop-in" for existing lithium-ion and sodium-ion gigafactory lines, with UK, Australian and US operations. Across the filing period the company has retreated from its earlier zinc-bromide product ambitions, pivoted decisively to sulfur cathodes, acquired IP from Johnson Matthey/Oxis (Mar-2023) and OXLiD (Nov-2023), and progressively raised ~£20m of dilutive equity while burning £4–6m/year on R&D and admin — with the shares outstanding roughly doubling from 108m to 229m in two years. The single most important valuation point is that this is a technology option, not a business: there is essentially no product revenue (£47k H1 FY26; £912k FY25 was from a BESS integration deal), the market cap of £44.7m is only ~£34m ex-cash, and the range of outcomes is binary between commercial validation with a Tier-1 partner and continuing dilution.

Fair value estimate

  • Fair value range: 12p – 25p per share, implying market cap of ~£28m – ~£57m.
  • Methodology: sum-of-parts / NAV-plus-option — (i) net cash backing of ~£10.5m (≈4.6p/share) as at Dec 2025, (ii) an option value on the sulfur battery IP/programme, benchmarked against comparable pre-revenue battery-tech peers (Ilika, AMTE, First Graphene) that trade at £15m–£60m enterprise values, and (iii) minimal value attributed to Battery Minerals recycling and Integration Solutions. A DCF is not defensible given no commercial CAM revenue exists and gross-margin economics at scale are not disclosed.
  • Key assumptions: cash burn of £4–5m p.a., another dilutive raise likely by mid-2027, ~10-15% probability of a value-transforming Tier-1 licensing/manufacturing deal in 12–24 months. The low-end reflects a scenario in which no Tier-1 commercial deal materialises and the company raises again at a discount; the high-end reflects successful pouch-cell qualification with TDK and/or Nissan.
  • Mid-point ~18p vs. current 19.5p — implied absolute upside/downside: roughly -5% to fair value.

Sector context

Sector classification (Industrial Goods & Services) is technically correct as an ICB tag but misleading — Gelion is a materials/battery-technology developer with a research-lab operating profile, not a producing industrial. It sits below typical Industrial peers on every quality metric (no revenue, negative EBITDA, no cash generation) but has a fortress-style balance sheet (net cash, no debt). Listed peers on AIM include Ilika (IKA), AMTE Power (delisted, cautionary) and First Graphene (FGR); on Nasdaq, QuantumScape and Solid Power offer parallels for pre-commercial next-gen battery names.

Investment thesis

  • Genuine platform IP position in an emerging chemistry — the OXLiD acquisition, Johnson Matthey/Oxis portfolio and USyd IP together give Gelion >200 patents/protections across Li-S and RT Na-S, with a "drop-in" claim into existing manufacturing lines that materially reduces adoption capex if validated 2025-11-27 final results; 2025-10-16 fundraising announcement.
  • Escalating third-party validation — MTA with TDK progressed to a multi-year Collaboration Agreement (post FY25), CoRe-SoLiS project with Nissan Technical Centre Europe/Oxford (£1.6m Innovate UK grant to Gelion; £3.4m total), CRADA with US National Laboratory of the Rockies, and DRIVE35/APC support with QinetiQ. These are non-dilutive validation signals from serious industrial and government counterparties 2026-06-30 US market entry; 2026-06-02 Nissan; 2026-03-02 half-year.
  • Well-funded for ~2 years — the oversubscribed £10.5m Nov-2025 raise took cash to £10.5m with nil debt; H1 FY26 adjusted EBITDA loss of £2.4m implies a ~2-year runway even before further R&D tax credits and grant income, providing time to reach commercial pouch-cell prototypes without near-term forced dilution 2026-03-02 half-year.

Key risks

  • No commercial CAM revenue and highly uncertain economics — the company has never sold sulfur cathode material commercially; the only 2025 revenue (£912k) came from one BESS integration order (Group Energy/Borg Group), and the CEO explicitly guided no Integration revenue in FY26. Valuing this stock requires believing in outcomes not present in the P&L 2025-11-27 final results.
  • Repeat dilution — capital raises of £4.1m (Nov 2023, 24p), £1.7m (Dec 2024, 15p), £2.0m (May 2025, 9p) and £10.5m (Nov 2025, 20p) have taken share count from 108m to 229m in ~24 months. Even a "successful" outcome will likely include further dilution before licensing royalties or CAM sales scale multiple placing announcements.
  • Technology-to-commercialisation execution risk — the shift from zinc-bromide to Zn hybrid (July 2023) to sulfur focus, and from OXLiD acquisition to solid-state Li-S, illustrates a strategy that has changed direction several times; sulfur batteries have a long history of over-promise and under-delivery on cycle life and manufacturability (not disclosed but inferred from historical zinc-bromide/Oxis Energy predecessor track records).

Operating leverage

On paper the operating leverage is very high: the H1 FY26 cost base is essentially fixed — £1.5m admin, £1.5m R&D, £0.3m D&A — and the "capital-light" licensing/toll-manufacturing model means incremental royalty or materials-sales revenue could largely drop through to operating profit once the fixed R&D base is covered. If Gelion licences NES™ CAM into a single Tier-1 gigafactory line producing, say, 5 GWh at ~$1.75/kg CAM royalty (Faraday Insights benchmark cited by Gelion), incremental royalty revenue could plausibly move the company to profitability with minimal added cost. Practically, however, this leverage is unrealisable until a Tier-1 partner signs a commercial supply/royalty deal, and the filings contain no contribution-margin or unit-economics disclosure to underwrite that step. Filings drawn on: 2026-03-02 half-year (cost breakdown); 2025-11-27 final results (capital-light model commentary); 2025-10-16 fundraising (cathode market sizing).

Value-trap signals

  • Persistent equity dilution — four rounds at progressively lower prices (24p → 15p → 9p → 20p) reflect market skepticism and a chronic capital-need pattern.
  • Repeated strategic pivots — from Zn-Br to Zn hybrid to sulfur focus; the FY24/25 accounts include an impairment write-down of £4.8m against the Gelion Technologies investment at parent level.
  • Concentrated founder ownership and related-party fees — Prof Maschmeyer's consulting company was paid £43k in FY25 (£88k in FY24), and directors participate in each placing (fair-and-reasonable-tested but a pattern worth noting).
  • Pre-revenue with no visible bridge to positive cash flow within the forecast horizon.

Earnings vs. expectations

The filings show a limited but constructive pattern. FY23 (guided at IPO) came in with Adjusted EBITDA loss of £5.9m vs. analyst estimate of £6.4m — a modest beat. FY24 Adjusted EBITDA loss of £4.8m beat market projections of £5.6m by ~15%. FY25 total income of £2.7m matched consensus (£2.7m) and Adjusted EBITDA loss of £4.1m beat by ~£0.2m. Guidance is consistently for continued losses narrowing modestly; management has met or slightly beaten this narrow set of financial expectations, though the true near-term catalyst — a commercial licensing/supply agreement — remains unmet.

Conviction

Conviction: 2 (low). The fair-value call is a wide 12p–25p range with weak evidence at any specific point. Anchors (support): (i) disclosed £10.5m net cash provides a hard floor, (ii) 229m share count and current market cap are unambiguous, (iii) two years of financials show consistent burn rate around £3–5m Adjusted EBITDA loss. Limits: (i) the entire above-cash value is optionality on sulfur battery commercialisation, which cannot be modelled from disclosed data, and (ii) no unit economics, no CAM ASP, no expected royalty rate, and no signed commercial supply contract exist against which a DCF could be anchored.

Overall score for this investor

Overall: 120/1000. Fails all three primary pillars: (a) essentially zero AI-receiver exposure — batteries here serve EVs, aerospace, drones and grid, not AI infrastructure; (b) valuation is only "fair" because the enterprise value is small, not because the fundamentals support it; (c) downside protection is weak — no revenue, ongoing dilution risk, wide binary outcome. High theoretical operating leverage does not save the score for this strategy because there is no commercial revenue yet against which the leverage could act.

Filings consulted · 39

Every document the LLM read for this note. Click any row to open the source.

  1. 2026-06-30US Market Entry And Investor Presentation2026-06-30_9643059_us-market-entry-and-investor-presentation.md0.70
  2. 2026-06-02Nissan Project Grant Award Investor Presentation2026-06-02_9596031_nissan-project-grant-award-investor-presentation.md0.70
  3. 2026-03-02Half Year Results TO 31 December 20252026-03-02_9452168_half-year-results-to-31-december-2025.md0.90
  4. 2025-12-22Result OF Agm2025-12-22_9313167_result-of-agm.md0.26
  5. 2025-12-11Change OF Name OF Oxlid Ltd TO Gelion Europe Ltd2025-12-11_9289284_change-of-name-of-oxlid-ltd-to-gelion-europe-ltd.md0.51
  6. 2025-11-27Notice OF Agm2025-11-27_9260149_notice-of-agm.md0.26
  7. 2025-11-27Final Results TO 30 June 20252025-11-27_9259969_final-results-to-30-june-2025.md0.85
  8. 2025-11-25Notice OF Results And Investor Presentation2025-11-25_9255644_notice-of-results-and-investor-presentation.md0.59
  9. 2025-10-17Result OF Placing And Subscription2025-10-17_9178069_result-of-placing-and-subscription.md0.59
  10. 2025-10-16Proposed Placing Subscription Amp Retail Offer2025-10-16_9176168_proposed-placing-subscription-amp-retail-offer.md0.59
  11. 2025-04-17Result OF Placing And Subscription2025-04-17_8837163_result-of-placing-and-subscription.md0.46
  12. 2025-04-17Proposed Placing Subscription Amp Retail Offer2025-04-17_8835800_proposed-placing-subscription-amp-retail-offer.md0.46
  13. 2025-03-19Interim Results TO 31 December 20242025-03-19_8785739_interim-results-to-31-december-2024.md0.58
  14. 2025-03-14Notice OF Results And Investor Presentation2025-03-14_8780752_notice-of-results-and-investor-presentation.md0.46
  15. 2025-01-10Posting OF Annual Report And Notice OF GM2025-01-10_8657345_posting-of-annual-report-and-notice-of-gm.md0.62
  16. 2025-01-03Directors 039 Participation IN Fundraising2025-01-03_8643786_directors-039-participation-in-fundraising.md0.46
  17. 2024-12-30Result OF Agm2024-12-30_8637648_result-of-agm.md0.20
  18. 2024-12-27Final Results TO 30 June 20242024-12-27_8632683_final-results-to-30-june-2024.md0.65
  19. 2024-12-19Result OF Placing And Subscription2024-12-19_8620214_result-of-placing-and-subscription.md0.46
  20. 2024-12-18Proposed Placing And Retail Offer2024-12-18_8619637_proposed-placing-and-retail-offer.md0.46
  21. 2024-12-05Notice OF Results And Investor Presentation2024-12-05_8592860_notice-of-results-and-investor-presentation.md0.46
  22. 2024-12-05Notice OF Agm2024-12-05_8592864_notice-of-agm.md0.20
  23. 2024-04-24Mello Investor Presentation2024-04-24_8154290_mello-investor-presentation.md0.32
  24. 2024-03-27Interim Results TO 31 December 20232024-03-27_8108588_interim-results-to-31-december-2023.md0.41
  25. 2024-03-20Notice OF Results And Investor Presentation2024-03-20_8097809_notice-of-results-and-investor-presentation.md0.32
  26. 2023-12-21Result OF Agm2023-12-21_7956932_result-of-agm.md0.14
  27. 2023-12-14Posting OF Annual Report And Notice OF GM2023-12-14_7943177_posting-of-annual-report-and-notice-of-gm.md0.43
  28. 2023-12-12Final Results TO 30 June 20232023-12-12_7937329_final-results-to-30-june-2023.md0.45
  29. 2023-11-23Notice OF Investor Presentation2023-11-23_7898442_notice-of-investor-presentation.md0.32
  30. 2023-11-09Result OF Placing And Posting OF Circular2023-11-09_7871600_result-of-placing-and-posting-of-circular.md0.32
  31. 2023-11-09Proposed Acquisition Placing Retail Offer And GM2023-11-09_7870463_proposed-acquisition-placing-retail-offer-and-gm.md0.34
  32. 2023-08-15Trading Update And Two New Agreements Signed2023-08-15_7695805_trading-update-and-two-new-agreements-signed.md0.38
  33. 2023-03-16Interim Results TO 31 December 20222023-03-16_7440458_interim-results-to-31-december-2022.md0.23
  34. 2023-02-24Notice OF Results And Investor Presentation2023-02-24_7233805_notice-of-results-and-investor-presentation.md0.17
  35. 2022-12-09Result OF Agm2022-12-09_7362257_result-of-agm.md0.07
  36. 2022-11-15Posting OF Annual Report And Notice OF Agm2022-11-15_7372322_posting-of-annual-report-and-notice-of-agm.md0.24
  37. 2022-11-09Final Results TO 30 June 20222022-11-09_7328807_final-results-to-30-june-2022.md0.25
  38. 2022-10-20Notice OF Results And Investor Presentation2022-10-20_7385253_notice-of-results-and-investor-presentation.md0.17
  39. 2022-03-16Interim Results2022-03-16_6966296_interim-results.md0.23

This research note was authored by a large language model after reading 33 regulatory filings published between 2022-03-16 and 2026-06-30. Each citation refers to a specific RNS announcement in the underlying data set. The note is an opinion, not advice. Do your own work before risking capital.